bill laswell's material presents oz fritz

All around the World


CD jewel case


"All Around The World" is an audio document of sacred spaces with their acoustic and consciousness altering properties. It is also the creation of new ambient spaces, new realities, through audio collage, juxtaposition and cut-up techniques. It is a child of John Cage's vision of being able to tune in and hear the music that is going on all around you by placing musical value on common sounds and elements of noise. Music that exists outside the structure of chords, scales and orthodox harmonic patterns. A new way of hearing music may occur for the attentive listener in much the same way that Edgard Varese broadened the way people heard music by introducing sirens and other found objects of noise into symphonic composition.

All recordings were done on location in various sites that include ambience from The King's Chamber in the Great Pyramid of Giza, Notre Dame Cathedral, Mount St. Thomas and the Theosophical Society World Headquarters in Madras, India, the Australian Outback, the subways of Paris... Every space has a subtle yet profound effect on the consciousness of anyone who enters into it. Architecture has a profound effect upon mood most noticeably in a building's acoustics. Thus temples, mosques, cathedrals and other sacred buildings were designed to elevate a person's mood and raise their consciousness. "Wake them up," to use a Sufi metaphor, and lift them out of their everyday mundane reality (sleep).
Oz Fritz

Landscape and architecture resonates with its own sound and evocation, music and ambience. These recordings represent time, space and sound reimagined. Transmission of all signals received. Relocated, reconfigured, this soundtrack reflects the environment in ways that are incorporated into the music's structure and purpose.
Bill Laswell


01 What Is Your Job? 10:49
02 Our Lady 1:33
03 Easter Sunday Midnight Mass 4:25
04 Temple Drumming 6:14
05 Marralyil 4:04
06 West African Night 3:26
07 Three Gods And A Chariot 4:48
08 Bell Of SacreCoeur / Showtime At Giza 5:49
09 Next Stop Is Bedford Avenue 2:15
10 Holy Beggars 4:28
11 All Around The World 4:47