charlemagne palestine

From Etudes to Cataclysms - for the Doppio Borgato


2CD digipack


After the epiphany of An Aural Symbiotic Mystery by Charlemagne Palestine and Tony Conrad (SR204) this is the first solo work by Charlemagne on Sub Rosa - the first but probably not the last - because we would like not only to release some new important material like this one - but re-release too a series of his classic works (most of them, unfortunately, are unavailable).

From Etudes to a Cataclysms is one of the most important work 'till this day. An impressive composition of more than 140 minutes based on an unique instrument - a double piano on which one keyboard is played by the feet.

Several years ago Martin Kaufmann of Kaufmann Pianos in Brussels told me he had seen and heard an amazing and unique instrument in Italy A piano with 2 separate bodies !
One with a normal grand piano body having 88 notes to be played with the fingers, and below this piano was a second piano also with a grand piano body which could play simultaneously the lower 37 notes of a grand piano with pedals for the feet

Having known my music for years and that i had been a carilloneur where one plays with both fists and feet simultaneously Martin Kaufmann thought that the Borgato would be perfect for my music The inventor of this unique instrument was Luigi Borgato from Padua who developed this instrument with his wife Paola

I was intriqued and through an intermediary, the Italian pianist Roberto Posseda visited the Borgatos in Lonigo where they have their workshop and found that their instrument was perfect for my body and my music We immediately decided to organise recording sessions in a local church for one week and "From Etudes to Cataclysms" is the result !

Charlemagne Palestine
October 2007




CD 1

01. Super high tones 7 :47
02. Tritone octave 5 7 :38
03. Tritone octave 4 6 :54
04. Tritone octave 3 7 :45
05. Tritone octave 2 12 :15
06. Tritone octave 1/1 9 :49
07. Tritone octave 1 part I 9 :13
08. Tritone octave 1 part II 3 :41
09. Tritone octave 1 part III 3 :42
10. Tritone octave 1/2 3 :31

CD 2

01. Cataclisma 1 12 :34
02. Cataclisma 2 9 :13
03. Cataclisma 3 11 :42
04 . Cataclisma 4 20 :58
05 . Cataclisma 5 10 :47